The World Council for Media Education, 1998
The Executive of the Association for Media Literacy

“The Most Influential Media Education Organization in North America”


Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence, 2005
Carolyn Wilson

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence recognize the efforts of 15 outstanding teachers from across Canada.  The Prime Minister’s Awards honour those teachers who have best prepared students for the challenges of a changing society and a knowledge-based economy.  The Award Committee described Carolyn as a “tireless pioneer and advocate for media literacy and global education on a national and international level.”

Catholic Press Association Award, 2005
John Pungente
Finding God in the Dark wins First Place in soft cover category

AMTEC Media Literacy Award, 2004
Neil Andersen
For outstanding contributions to media education in Canada

New York International Festivals of Film and Video, 2004
John Pungente
Scanning Television (2nd Edition) wins Bronze Medal

Honorary Doctorate, St. Thomas University, Fredericton, NB, 2003
John Pungente

Chicago International Film Festival, 2003
John Pungente
Scanning the Movies: Matrix Reloaded wins Gold

Honorary Doctorate,  Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, 1999
John Pungente

The Jesse McCanse Award
AML Recipients of the Jessie McCanse Award
2001 Neil Andersen, Toronto District School Board, Canada
1995 John Pungente, Canadian Assoc. of Media Education Orgs (CAMEO)
1989 Barry Duncan, Association for Media Literacy (AML)

The Jessie McCanse Award, established in 1987, honors recipients for their dedication and leadership role in media literacy, and for promoting the highest standards of excellence, fairness, ethics and innovation. The award is given for individual contribution to the field of media literacy over a long sustained period of time of at least ten years. It honors individuals whose contributions exemplify high principles and dedication.

The Canadian Council of Teachers of English Meron Chorney Award, 1994
Barry Duncan
The Meron Chorney award is given for an outstanding contribution to the teaching of English and Language Arts in Canada.

The Alliance for Children and Television “Contribution Award”, 1993
Barry Duncan
The inscribed plaque read “Barry Duncan, media pioneer.”

Leave a Reply